Impact grants advice and ideas

Hey everyone,

We’re considering developing some kind of ‘impact grant’; offering an organisation a donation of products and services from our business to help them (and us) move towards creating our collective impact.

I’d love some advice on developing an ethical framework for creating this, the application process (privacy, ethics etc.) and even reporting the outcomes.

Any examples, insights or even discussion welcome.

Warm regards,
JA

Hi Jim,

My name is George. I am a lawyer and a corporate advisor. I recently decided to turn my professional focus towards helping for-purpose and purpose-led organisations. I might be able to help you in some way to formulate a path forward and to work out the steps needed to get your project up and running.

My LinkedIn profile is here - https://www.linkedin.com/in/georgeparamananthan/. There is a one-page bio in the Features section of my profile.

Let me know if you’d like to e-meet (I am in Sydney) to connect and to see how I can help. My contact details are below.

Cheers,
George
george@paramco.com.au

1 Like

Hi Jim,
At FTD we invite applications for our 6 monthly intake of pro bono projects. We haven’t called it a grant. We just put a call out via social media and our newsletter etc, get people to fill in a form and prepare a short pitch submission that they email back to us directly. This has worked well to provide structure to what used to just be a constant flow of requests that we couldn’t always serve. Now people better understand that they need to apply for our support and that we can’t help everyone. Sometimes we still take on other projects in between at low or pro bono. There’s far more need than we can service so we’ve had to reduce our pro bono work since COVID-19 unfortunately (we’ve taken a big hit ourselves with that).